Seeking Advice on Building My First Home Lab

Hey guys… :wave:

I have been diving into the world of home labs and am eager to create a setup that not only meets my needs but also allows me to learn and experiment with different technologies.

As a beginner, I am looking for some guidance on the initial steps to take. I am particularly interested in setting up a network environment where I can practice virtualization, containerization, and maybe even dabble in some networking projects. I have some old hardware lying around, including a couple of desktops and a Raspberry Pi, and I am wondering how I can best utilize them.

Additionally, I had love to hear your recommendations for essential software tools that would be beneficial for someone just starting out. Should I focus on specific hypervisors, or is it better to explore multiple platforms?

I also check this: https://forum.45homelab.com/t/new-to-homelab-help-me-decide-full-build-or-custom-buildrails Lastly, any tips on best practices for managing and maintaining a home lab would be greatly appreciated. I want to ensure I’m building a sustainable environment that allows me to expand over time.

Thanks in advance!

Respected community member! :blush:

2 Likes

Hey there @macede1883! It’s great to hear your looking to dive into homelab. For getting started, I think the best overall advice is don’t overdo it. :slight_smile: I find it’s really easy to over engineer and get in over your head with too much to fast. At least that was my experience. It turns out that I didn’t actually need 30 vlans like I thought when I got started. :roll_eyes: I often find simpler is better for getting started and you can always make it more complicated later.