Pool Layout for 15 Drives

Okay don’t want this to be a controversial post as I know there are MULTIPLE ways to do things. I’m quite new to ZFS and looking for an optimal way to setup the ZPool on the HL15.

Using a ZFS Capacity Calculator (OpenZFS Capacity Calculator) and watching a few ZFS videos on YouTube I think I’ve settled on 3x vdevs, 5 Disks each, in a RAIDZ2. That allows for 6 disks failures which seems a bit overkill. The other option I was thinking was 2x vdevs 7 Disks each in a RAIDZ2 leaving 1 spare drive. But more vdevs is better performance? Workload is going to me mainly media storage with maybe a few docker apps. VM storage could be a possibility in the future as lab expands.

How is everyone else thinking of dividing up the 15 drive bays?

1 Like

draid2:6d:15c:1s is likely where I will land although like you I haven’t entirely decided.

I will probably do a few test configurations:

• see how various zfs raid will work.
  • I will probably add my own networking card for 1GBe client traffic
  • check how the systems performs with my existing 10GBe equipment

This unit is planned to replace my “Chenbro NR12000 1U 12-Bay storage server”. I have a unit similar to the YouTube video Jeff from Craft Computing posted back in Nov 2020.

I do not plan to use this HL-15 for virtualization as I have an existing cluster of 3 nodes within my home lab.

It would be great to hear what others are thinking to do or implement.

I believe I have decided this layout. (Already have 6x 18tb exos drives.

3 vdev, 5xdisks raidz1.

I bought the nvme card, and I plan on having a ZIL, and l2arc OR use it as mirred zfs pool.

Here’s why:

The media I have while it would suck to lose it, I’m not super concerned.

The ones I DO care about losing, I have backed up into two separate clouds.

Losing 1 disk per vdev, is fairly safe (I can have up to 3 drive failures all the drives, Admittedly 1 in 5.