[HL15] [Fully Built] Onboard Broadcom 3008 controller Passthrough

Hi,

I have just purchased the HL15 as a full build version. And I was reading through the motherboard manual to understand all the specs.

I noticed with HL15 back plane, it connects 7 drives to the SATA onboard controller, the other 8 to the SAS onboard 3008 controller. And this onboard SAS controller is not sharing PCIe lanes with anything else.

So I’m thinking of this, would it be possible to install Proxmox and just pass through this SAS controller directly into a TrueNAS VM? As this controller is the only device on its own PCI bus, would this be possible?

I understand I will only be able to use 8 slots of the HDDs on the back plane, but I’m totally fine as I don’t need more than that. I think the benefit is to not buy a separate HBA card as we already have an onboard controller.

It might sounds like a weird use case, but I do want to make this more like an all-in-one solution.

I’m relatively new to this topic, excuse me if the question seems obvious.
Looking for suggestions from the community.

Thank you!

Yes. You might need to tweak a few things like the motherboard trying to boot from the disks connected to the HBA. See;

https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/proxmox-v7-1-10-passthrough-problem-lsi3008-sas-controller-to-truenas-core.35402/

There’s a lot of tutorials and discussion about setting up TN VMs in Proxmox, so I don’t know if that config is or isn’t best practice. It would seem to limit your ability to create additional VMs or move them between hosts.

Thanks for the reply, yea I came across this post. I haven’t received my server yet, so I was thinking of posting it here, to see if anyone else has already tried it out.

It would seem to limit your ability to create additional VMs or move them between hosts.

When you mention limit ability to create additional VMs or move between hosts, are you referring to Proxmox HA Cluster?