HL15 Build - Sanity Check - Going to be ingesting + working with a lot of audio

Hey folks. I just ordered my HL15 chassis + backplane a day ago and now I’m figuring out what I’m going to put in it.

My planned usage:

Primarily storage - I plan to store hundreds of thousands of hours audio - ingesting about 24GB / day. I also plan to read all of it remotely from another machine on the same network multiple times a day.

I think I’m going to be optimizing for storage space + transfer speed.

I think I need a bit of a sanity check on my list of parts. I’m used to working with consumer parts but this is my first time building something enterprisey from scratch.

Let me know what you think. Thanks!

CPU: AMD EPYC 7402P
Motherboard: Supermicro H12SSL-i
RAM: 256GB - 8x32GB 2133P DDR4 ECC REG

(Just a tugm4470 bundle - AMD EPYC 7402P CPU + Supermicro H12SSL-i + 2133P RAM multiple choices | eBay

Cooler: Arctic Freezer 4U SP3

HBA: LSI-9305-16i

Boot drives: 2 x 1tb m.2 nvme ssds in raid1. (I’ll probably grab whatever samsung 990 / sabrent is in stock on amazon)

Networking: Mellanox ConnectX-3 Pro EN Dual Port 40GbE QSFP+ PCIe Ethernet Adapter

Storage add-on: ASUS Hyper M.2 X16 PCIe 4.0 X4 Expansion Card - 4 NVMe M.2

Drives: Probably get started with 4 x Seagate Exos X22 20TB drives

Power Supply: Corsair RM750e

1 Like

How much is “all of it”? The daily 24GB or the hundreds of thousands of hours? How much data do you need to move across the network each day and how fast does that need to happen?

What are your plans/needs for RAID and backup of the data?

You might want more smaller drives than fewer larger drives, or SAS drives, if you want to get that data over the network at 40Gb/s.

Every job will process all of it (the hundreds of thousands of hours). At some point, running that job will take more than a day and that’s fine. I don’t need overlapping runs.